Cole Skuse, Business Manager/News Editor

Big Knob Elementary marked as “condemned”

Big Knob elementary school is now considered a condemned property in New Sewickley Township. 


Breakfast and lunch program adapts to students being out of school

The school has made meal packages available for students who needed it via curbside pickup at the former Big Knob and Conway Elementary schools, along with the middle school. This was for each week day that students were out of school. The packages consist of breakfast and lunch and have been distributed to any child under the age of 18, free of charge. District employees have helped to distribute the meals and an average of 300 meals have been passed out per day across the three locations.


Students recognized through Student Keystone Media Awards

Seniors Matthew Levenson and Myah Hrinko were winners in the 2020 Student Keystone Media Awards. Levenson placed first for best sports photo, and Hrinko received honorable mention for three of her graphics and illustrations.


Business manager replacement approved

The school board made a motion and approval during the March 5 meeting to approve Gary Ceccarelli as business manager. Ceccarelli currently is the business manager at Big Beaver Falls School District and will be splitting his time between the two districts.


Freedom student journalists recognized in statewide competition

Seniors Cole Skuse and Leah McNear were recognized in the Pennsylvania Scholastic Press Association’s Pennsylvania Student Journalist of the Year competition. Skuse was a runner-up and McNear was an honorable mention in the contest. Student competitors created an electronic portfolio that highlighted their experience as a student journalist, which included categories ranging from news literacy, web, entrepeneurialship and editing skills.


Students of the month

The physical education and health department selected the students of the month for the month of March. Teachers involved in this selection were physical education and health teachers Chris Coennen and Lisa Woods.


12th Grade

Myah Hrinko

Aidan Wright

11th Grade

Tara Speicher

Alexander Bearer

10th Grade

Anastasia Smith

Christopher Hartley

9th Grade

Mikalah Smith

Nicholas Paganini